Well hello

So i’ve finally started a blog. This is my first blog, so i’m still learning the ropes, I’ll get the hang of this in no time i’m sure. In the mean time…

This is a fossil and is a few million years old

This is a fossil and is a few million years old

I was lucky enough to obtain this really really interesting object for a small drawing project I’m doing at the moment. The brief is to draw a series of four A1 sheets of partly observational drawing and partly imaginative, and in some cases, combined. We are told to choose a complex object, the brief giving examples of drawing things like washing machines, hoovers etc , which didn’t get me excited, as you can imagine. So a fellow colleague of mine at work, offered to lend me his fossil. I was quite interested, as he is a geologist in the making and gets rather excited about rocks, so I was fueled by his enthusiasm to take up his offer.

Another view of my new shellfish-esque friend

Another view of my new shellfish-esque friend

To me and youit appears to be just a rock. But I’m assured by my nearly certified geologist friend that it’s not and it is in fact a fossil, and it was once a living thing a good few million years ago. Which I actually find quite amazing. Which makes drawing this incredibly difficult object significantly more appealing. Much better than a washing machine don’t you think.

A birds-eye snap, I really do like this little piece of history

A birds-eye snap, I really do like this little piece of history

My first attempt

My first attempt

a comparison between rock and drawing

a comparison between rock and drawing

So I’m not used to this at all, it’s all new territory, drawing such detailed objects such as rocks. I enjoyed doing it nonetheless.

Pencil sketches

Pencil sketches

after more scribbling and sketching, I think to myself ‘wow, i’m enjoying drawing rocks’, a strange notion I know. But I really have enjoyed it, that’s probably why it’s on my blog. I would go into what this particular fossil is and actually how old it is but I can’t, as of yet, but I will as soon as I get the message I’ve requested from my colleague yet explaining the facts about this wonderful little creature.

another quick drawing

another quick drawing

Finding the colours was reeeeally hard! The texture and patterns and colours on the surface were so varied and detailed, it’d probably be best if i did one on a larger scale, I will need to get myself into uni tomorrow for this I think. So until then… šŸ™‚

About OmPomIllustration

Living Illustrator! nhermitage@hotmail.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

