PRINT MAKING

So I forgot to catch up on the exploring media project over the hols, so am trying miserably to make up for it by actually working quite hard on this. The outcome will be a book of some sort, maybe a lino covered book, hmmm we were talking about this today, whilst lino cutting, probably why I have so many injuries…

fish mono printing

fish mono printing

The first workshop was basically just mono printing which I’ve done before and is one of the most simplest ways of print making. If I remember correctly this was subtractive mono printing, where you remove the ink to create the picture, usually with a pencil or blunt object. It’s a nice effect, lots of playing and experimenting, which I enjoy 🙂

the inks, laid out ready for application

the inks, laid out ready for application

this press is around a hundred years old, made from cast iron I believe

this press is around a hundred years old, made from cast iron I believe

my first attempt

my first attempt

That was my first attempt… this one went wrong, there was far too much ink on the paper that my little fishy was lost, that said my little fishy looks much more realistic, like the sun light shining through the deep blue water onto it’s reflective scales! This trial and error lark is all luck to me.

This is lino cutting

This is lino cutting

This is where you cut lino, cover it in ink and print it on some paper… in nut shell.

playing

playing

Some doodling and sketching and ideas generating… still haven’t come to any sort of solid idea. I was thinking maybe a phonetic alphabet or an associative alphabet or just making my own type face or just a series of pretty letters 🙂 …we’ll see

my first lino print!

my first lino print!

Loved cutting lino, very therapeutic gauging out chunks of plastic with a sharp object. Not so pleased with my poor poor injured fingers!!! seriously, they’re dangerous those little tools… anyway the print above is based on the alphabet and the letter ‘A’.

yay second. a bush baby

yay second. a bush baby

This is, what turned out to be, a very cute bush baby. Was based on the letter ‘B’ but as silly as I am I cut out the ‘b’ backwards… 😀 clever omi. Anyway that was my day, and that was my print making project, thus far!

About OmPomIllustration

Living Illustrator! nhermitage@hotmail.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to PRINT MAKING

  1. Nicole says:

    I absolutely loved all your print work! It’s all very sharp and clean with almost surgical cuts, but the images were really organic. And you really seemed to get into it. I hope I see you do more of it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

